Quezon Native Named Winner In Tops 2013


2013-07-23 12:01:26



Lieutenant Colonel Moises L. Micor, a native of Lucena City, Quezon, was named among the 10 winners in the 2013 Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS), commissioned officers category.


Lt. Col. Micor of the Philippine Air Force and his fellow winners will each receive a trophy and cash prize of Php 300,000.00. The awarding ceremony will be held collectively with those of the Search for Country’s Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS), and the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT) in the event dubbed as The Outstanding Filipinos this coming September 5, 2013.


Lt. Col. Micor was found eligible for the search due to his extraordinary display of competence throughout his 20 years as a military officer and pilot. He introduced innovation in the form of revisions on the Standing Operating Procedures of the Wing on Safety, development of a Management Information System to monitor aircraft requirements and spares, as well as the formulation and implementation of a program that would prevent Tool Foreign Object Damage, to name a few.


Aside from gaining various recognition within the military for his squadron – such as the CG, PAF Streamer Award for the Best Support Group of the Year 2010 and CG, PAF Streamer Award for Best Tactical Squadron 2005 – Lt. Col. Micor is also a wielder of the Gold Cross Medal for gallantry, distinguishing his service as a pilot during an attack by the MNLF at Camp Budato on November 19, 2001; four Bronze Cross Medals for acts of heroism involving risks of life as a pilot on four separate occasions; and the Distinguished Aviation Cross Medal together with his aircrew for troop insertion and extrication, air evacuation, aerial recon, re-supply mission and combat support during a military offensive by the Philippine Army on November 11-12, 2001.


TOPS, which recognizes and pays tribute to outstanding members of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, is sponsored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. and Rotary Club of Makati Metro. The final board of judges for the search was chaired by Justice Adolfo S. Azcuna, Chancellor of the Philippine Judicial Academy.