Thousands Flock Teacher’s Convention


2013-02-12 16:19:54




Divine P. Sibulo, a teacher from Arawan Elementary School, San Antonio, Quezon shed tears of joy last Feb. 7, 2013 at the annual teacher’s convention held at the Quezon Convention Center. Gov. David Suarez announced that the provincial government will now give scholarship grants for teachers wishing to earn a master’s degree but lack financial resources. Sibulo will be the first teacher to receive the said scholarship. (Quezon PIO)

Lucena City – Scholarship grants will now extend to teachers wishing to attain master’s degrees, Quezon Governor David “JayJay” C. Suarez announced in front of over 16,000 teachers from the province’s four districts during the two-day Teacher’s Convention last February 7-8,  2013 held at the Quezon Convention Center.

According to Gov. Suarez, the province’s scholarship programs have originally been limited to tertiary education for students. But with the help of2nd District Board Member Romano Talaga and the rest of the provincial council, a resolution was passed to include a scholarship program for teachers wishing to attain a master’s degree, but encounter difficulty to do so because of inadequate finances.

Divine P. Sibulo from Arawan Elementary School in San Antonio, Quezon will be the first teacher to receive the master’s degree scholarship grant.

Gov. Suarez also reported that 55 public high schools in the province have already received computer laboratories, in accordance with the computer literacy thrust under Serbisyong Suarez for Education. It is expected that by the school year 2015-2016, all public high schools in Quezon will all have the fully-furnished computer laboratories.

During the same event, the provincial government of Quezon gave recognition to the teachers and schools that brought honor to the province by participating and winning in various competitions in both regional and national levels.

The teachers that were awarded plaques of appreciation during the convention are as follows:

·         Nimpha Reyes from Sariaya East Central Main, Sariaya, Quezon:  Most Outstanding English Teacher in Elementary in CALABARZON -  Search for Treasured Achiever in the Region for 2012.

·         Francisco Oblea from Panukulan Central Elementary School, Panukulan, Quezon: National Awardee –Brigada Eskwela Best School Implementer (Small ES Category)

·         Aurea Evasco from Ungos National High School, Real, Quezon: National Awardee –Brigada Eskwela Best School Implementer

·         Reynaldo Cacho from Lopez National Comprehensive School, Lopez, Quezon:UNESCO Bangkok Asia Pacific Video Contest

·          Isidro Obmasca from Lucban III-A Elementary School, Lucban, Quezon: Solo Category National Fiesta Rondalla and NAMCYA National Champion

·         Jarry Mecantina from Gumaca National High School, Gumaca, Quezon:1st SCI-DAMA Teacher Category – Secondary Level

·         Rosella Rogadofrom San Lorenzo Elementary School – Mauban North: 1st Place, Strategic Intervention Materials for Teachers – Regional Science Quest

·         Honester Jorvina from Calauag National High School, Calauag, Quezon:1st Outstanding School Paper Adviser in the Region – Secondary Level

·         Flor Laguador from Paaralang Sekundaryang Lucban, Lucban, Quezon: Regional Champion, Strategic Intervention Material Development - Regional Science Quest

·         Feliza Quevada from Alabat National High School, Alabat, Quezon: Regional Winner - Best School Forest Park

·         Christian Dator from Paaralang Elementaryang Lucban, Lucban, Quezon: Regional Winner, Model Pre-School Class Home - CALABARZON Search for Treasured Achiever in the Region.

The schools that were recognized during the convention are as follows:

·         Panukulan Central Elementary School –Brigada Eskwela Best School Implementor (Small Elementary School Category)

·         Ungos National High School –Brigada Eskwela Best School Implementer (Big Secondary School Category)

·         Alabat National High School - Best School Forest Park

·         Paaralang Elementaryang Lucban - Regional Level, Model Pre-School Class Home CALABARZON Search for Treasured Achiever in the Region.

P5,000 cash incentives were also given to the 6 top performing Serbisyong Suarez Scholars during the first semester of school year 2012-2013. The students are Lorelie Leonor (SLSU-Tiaong), Katrina Jane Lago (SLSU-Tiaong), Hanna Xyra Limbo (SLSU-ALABAT), Leonor Carminia (SLSU-Tiaong), Vanessa Orolfo (SLSU-Tiaong) and Joan Bernadette Villa (SLSU-Tiaong).

The teachers’ convention is a yearly event supported by theDepartment of Education (DepEd). The event and its activities were divided for two days this year to make the number of attendees easier to handle, and to keep them more comfortable. The teachers from the four districts of Quezon were separated into two clusters, headed by Quezon Division Schools Superintendent Tolentino Aquino, CESO VI.

The convention was kept entertained by numbers from the province’s talented children, 1st Philippine Idol Mau Marcelo, world champions Kat Loria and Reymond Sajo, as well as the Olay Yapanit band. Comediennes from Manila also kept the guests lively and upbeat.

Board Members Romano Talaga, Bong Talabong, Lourdes De Luna-Pasatiempo, Tetchie Dator, Alona Obispo, Manny Butardo, Rachel Ubana, Gerald Ortis and SK Prov’l Fed. Pres. Joana Martija, former Congw. Aleta Suarez, former Board Member Liza Alvarez and former Lucena City Mayor Barbara Ruby Talaga also graced the event and gave their support to the provincial government’s activities.(Quezon PIO)